See all lecturers

Mirel Iancovici

Mirel Iancovici (born 1951) is a Romanian cellist, teacher, composer, arranger and conductor. After studying under Serafim Antropov at the National University of Music in Bucharest, and completing his studies with Radu Aldulescu and Paul Tortelier, he won many important international competitions such as: Gaspar Cassado Florence, Italy - First Prize and several special prizes; Imperial Tobacco Cello Competition Bristol, UK - First Prize and Gold Medal; Pablo Casals Centenary Barcelona, Spain - First Prize. Since then, his concert and recital schedule has involved extensive travel throughout Europe, the United States and the Far East as well radio/TV recordings and records for Electrecord, Atacca, Albany etc. Since 1997, he has been the Artistic Director of Schubert & Co. chamber music concert series in Maastricht (Netherlands) and the founder and leader of Mirel Iancovici & I Multicelli.

View full profile

Gustav Rivinius

Gustav Rivinius (born 1965) is the first and only German musician to be awarded a first prize Gold Medal at the 1990 International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow. He also received a special prize for the best interpretation of a Tchaikovsky composition, outperforming all other competitors. Since then he has appeared with leading musicians, orchestras and conductors around the world. At Conservatorium Maastricht, he teaches Cello in the Classical Music department.

View full profile

Ursula Smith

Ursula Smith studied with Emma Ferrand and Ralph Kirshbaum at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester and Aldo Parisot at Yale University, where she was a Fulbright scholar and graduated with a Master of Music degree. Later on she participated in masterclasses with Janos Starker, William Pleeth and Pierre Fournier.

View full profile


General admission requirements

Specific admission requirements Cello

    Scales and chords

    • Major and minor scales up to three sharps and three flats, including accompanying triads
    • Ability to demonstrate the above using different playing styles

    Two études of contrasting character, choice of:

    • J. Merk: Etüden
    • J. Merk: Melodische und Progressive Etüden, Vol 1 + 2
    • J. Stutschefsky: Etüdensammlung, Vol 2

    Recital pieces

    Two recital pieces/sonatas of contrasting character, choice of:

    • G. Fauré: Sicilienne
    • G. Fauré: Elégie
    • C. Saint-Saëns: Le Cygne
    • G. Golteman: Concert no. 4
    • W. de Fesch: 6 Sonates
    • A. Vivaldi: 6 Sonates
    • B. Romberg: Sonates op. 28 or 43


Download curriculum overviews
Download course descriptions