Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Opera Dido & Aeneas

Opera Zuid - Malpertuisplein 60

16:30 (duration approx. 1 hour)

13:30 (duration approx. 1 hour)

A royal wedding, a jealous sorceress, a treacherous storm… Purcell’s Dido & Aeneas comes to Opera Zuid as part of the master 1 presentation from Conservatorium Maastricht.

The pandemic presented us with many limitations last year, forcing us to reduce the amount of participants in our main opera production. Fantastic opportunities arose, however, allowing us to produce not only our first livestreamed opera the pastiche Decamerone but a SECOND opera production in 2021-2022. And that in the middle of a pandemic!

The result was Street Scene, a second livestreamed production presenting the first act of Kurt Weill’s work in the foyer of our main building. Following on from the success of this production, conductor Jeremy Hulin and director Nynke van den Bergh are collaborating again to bring you Purcell’s Dido & Aeneas, with the roles mainly performed again by our master 1 students.

Instead of a livestream, you are welcome to join us live again at Opera Zuid, where we have 100 places available per performance. Please confirm your presence by filling in the following form. Click here

Tickets are free for employees and students of conservatorium Maastricht, and are charged at  €10,- for external guests. You can pay via (exact) cash or card at the venue.

Light refreshments will be available before and after the performance.

See you there!


Creative Team
Conductor: Jeremy Hulin
Director: Nynke van den Bergh
Scenography/Costume: Jing Lin & Iga van der Moeren

Light: Kevin Liedekerken

Dido: Eline Meijs/Neele Jacobsen
Belinda: Mona Beyersdorf
2nd Woman: Rahel Erki/Lydia Kakopierou
Aeneas: Pascal Franssen
Sorceress: Joshua Franken
First Witch/Enchantress: Alina Palus
Second Witch/Enchantress: Jeske de Haart
Spirit: Nima Pournaghshband
First Sailor: Dean Parker
Choir: Younes Müller/Aljoscha Ristow (+ above small roles)

1st Violin: Yvonne Hermanns
2nd Violin: Nader Adabnejad
Viola: Suri Figueroa Lopez
Cello: Valérie Stammet
Double Bass: Jacob Franken
Guitar: Diego Sepúlveda
Harpsichord: Jeremy Hulin